Alpha Chi Nu Chapter

Phi Theta Kappa at Southern Maine Community College

Shattering Stereotypes: How Popular Culture Vilifies the Cultural Other

Posted by alphachinu on July 29, 2006

We will be showing the third installment in the 2005-2006 Honors Satellite Seminar Series on Monday, August 7, 2006, in the Quiet Lounge of the Campus Center at 5:30PM. The installment is Dr. Jack Shaheen’s presentation on the dangers of stereotypes and stereotypical thinking for all of us. Irregardless of the source of the stereotype there are commonalities to them all that Dr. Shaheen speaks about. How do you recognize stereotypes, how to combat stereotypes, and how to stop stereotypical thinking are all topics that will be discussed.

The format will be presentation and discussion facilitated by myself. Please bring a light snack, a friend, and an open mind to enjoy the show.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Cragen
Vice President of Scholarship

2 Responses to “Shattering Stereotypes: How Popular Culture Vilifies the Cultural Other”

  1. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance
    from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own
    blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? With thanks

  2. My vacaton was slighhtly uneventful and full of a lot of sleeping. Wich isn’t bad considering it is one of my favorite things to do, even though it is overrated and sucks away hours of my life. But I went to the shooting range, went to the flea market for the first time, and pretty much spent Christmas with my family. I got a few gifts but my favorites would have to be some of the CDs I got: The Go! Team, The Strokes, Spoon, The Smashing Pumpkins, and The Fratellis. I also got a few video games, giftcards, and clothes. I also so Juno in theaters twice and it is a great movie. I think that about sums it up. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

 
